top of page
emory newland2.jpeg

Student Spotlight

Name: Emory Newland

Grade: 12th 

State: Alabama 

Mu Eta Sigma Member Since: 2022 


Describe why you enjoy math: I enjoy math because it is so predictable. I love finding patterns in everything and studying math has revealed patterns that I never dreamed existed. 

Describe how you anticipate using math in your future: I am currently involved in an after-school tutoring program, and the students usually need the most help with math. I have helped with pre-calculus and trigonometry, basic addition/subtraction, probability, and everything in between. I would love to keep tutoring and help children grow in their math skills. 

I have been involved in my community through the following service projects:

  • Joni and Friends Mississippi/Alabama Family Retreat: Individually partnered with a child with special needs for a weeklong camp. 

  • Esperanza House: Volunteered as a tutor for local Hispanic students on a biweekly basis and directly facilitated special events. I am now an intern for this organization and organize tutoring volunteers, events for the children, and work with local churches to coordinate provisions for the families. 

  • Trinity Presbyterian Church piano performances: Performed special solo arrangements during worship. 

  • Trinity Presbyterian Church childcare volunteer: Supervise and entertain children in the nursery during worship services and other church-related functions. 

  • Near His Heart, assisted with set-up for an annual evening of respite offered to families caring for children with special needs and provided childcare during the banquet. 

  • First Baptist Church Opelika respite care: Direct childcare and registration during an afternoon event for children with special needs. 

  • Joni and Friends Christmas gift delivery: Purchase, wrap, and distribute gifts to local families caring for children with special needs. 

  • Opelika Swim Team: Timed for swimmers at a swim meet. 

  • Food Bank of East Alabama: Sorted and bagged food. 


My favorite project was: Joni and Friends Family Retreat, because I was able to spend a week as a buddy for a girl with special needs and it was one of the best weeks of my life. We participated in Vacation-Bible-School type activities, played water games, went fishing, and took part in a talent show. I loved getting to serve my buddy and her family for the whole week, and it was a huge joy to befriend her and see the world through her eyes. 


I have set the following goals for myself for the next:


 1 year: Graduate from high school and start my freshman year of college, keeping my GPA above a 3.0 

 5 years: Pursue a career in helping others and stay active volunteering in my community 


Inspiration: My parents have always encouraged me to never limit myself, but to keep looking for opportunities to grow both in my education and in day-today life. 


My favorite subject in school is: I have always loved reading and will read almost anything I can find! I also really enjoy history. 


My favorite extra-curricular activity is: Currently, I work a childcare program at my church and babysit for several families in my town. I love working with kids and watching them grow and develop! 


The most challenging thing I have ever experienced is: I swam competitively my first two years of high school. Attending daily practices and regular meets pushed me way out of my comfort zone. 


My greatest accomplishment to date has been: Once, I swam the mile in a 50-meter pool and it took me nearly twenty-eight minutes to finish that race.  

bottom of page