Mary Margaret Lewis MHS Student Spotlight.jpg
Student Spotlight

Name: Mary Margaret Lewis

Age: 18


Grade: 12th

State: North Carolina


Member since: 2020

Describe why you enjoy math: It is systematic and makes sense. It is also less subjective to the teacher’s personal tastes.

Describe how you anticipate using math in your future: The basis of data science (my projected major) is mathematics and statistics. Additionally, I plan to continue tutoring math in some capacity through college.

I have been involved in my community through the following service projects: Operation Christmas Child, Samaritan’s Feet, Volunteering at the Library, doing St. Patrick’s Day Irish Dance Shows, and teaching Latin for CCE (homeschool group).

My favorite project was doing St. Patrick’s Day shows, for the following reason: I love bringing joy to people, especially those in nursing homes, through Irish Dance. I am able to connect with them without using words. It also sparks many conversations about common heritage and hearing loss.

I have set the following goals for myself for the next:

  • 1 year: Solidify plans for graduate school. Have studied abroad. Become more confident advocating for myself and my hearing impairment in social and professional situations.

  • 5 years: Graduate from both college and graduate school. Land the perfect job (for me). If it’s God’s will, start a family of my own.


My parents have inspired me to consider: studying abroad in college.

My favorite subject in school is, or has been: Historically, it has been history. However, in the last two years, my favorite subjects have become Latin and math.

My favorite extracurricular activity has been: Dancing (everything from swing dance to Irish dance).

The most challenging thing I have ever experienced is: living with a hearing impairment (Cochlear Implants) that is not immediately obvious to people who don’t already know.

My greatest accomplishment to date has been: Earning all of the credits necessary to be awarded an associate’s degree alongside my high school diploma.